OSSIE St Mary’s are the sixth different team from the Blackburn Sunday League to win the LFA Sunday Trophy.

The league has one of the best records in the competition’s 42-year history, winning it a total of seven times as Mill Hill lifted the Trophy twice.

Wellington were the league’s first winners back in 1974/75 before Witton Inn won it five years later.

Alexandra became the third team to win it in 1986 but the league had to wait a futher 13 years before Old Toll Bar famously won it on a penalty shoot-out.

Mill Hill won the first of their two LFA Sunday Trophies in 2004/05 before winning it again in 2011/12 – also by way of a penalty shoot-out.

Now the Saints join the elite list of winners.

“We are very proud of our record as a league in the competition,” said fixture and results secretary Bill Maynard.

“I think it speaks volumes for the standard of football throughout the league when seven of our teams have won this coveted trophy.”