THE grand final of the annual St Wilfrids Panel Darts competition takes place on Friday with some of the best darters from across the region in the hunt for the £1,000 first place prize fund.

A total of eight qualifying rounds have been held at the Longridge venue with the top two qualifying to set up a mouth-watering showdown between 16 of the best players from East Lancashire and beyond - including 15-year-old England internation Jordan Singh from Wolverhampton.

A ladies competition will also be held on the same evening.

There will be three boards in action on the evening - two for the men and one for the women - with the first matches starting at 8pm.

Young Singh is first on the oche on board one against Graham Hoggarth from Skipton with Dicky Winder from Longridge playing Blackburn’s experienced Ian Lever next.

Defending champion Rob Rickwood from Burnley is third up on board one against Blackburn’s Mick Pearson followed by Ken Bramall from Blackburn and tournament organsier Vinny Holden.

First up on board two are Bury’s Daz Latham and Morecambe’s Paul Osmortherly followed by the Place brothers - Dave taking on Christian Pratt from Burnley with Daz facing Con Nagi, also from Burnley.

The first round concludes with Ryan Hoggarth of Skipton up against Clitheroe’s Graham Robinson.

The ladies brings together eight players, four of them travelling from further afield.

First up is Heather Lodge from Morecambe and Blackburn’s Sue Flannery with Natasha Eaves (Fleetwood) and Jeanette Parkinson (Preston) on next.

Longridge’s own Charlot Podmore- Nappin is next on the oche against Skipton’s Katy Hoggarth.

And last up will be the all-Blackburn affair between Emma McNicol and Claire Wearden.

  • Order of play Board One: Jordan Singh v Graham Hoggarth (8pm), Dicky Winder v Ian Lever (8.15pm), Mick Pearson v Rob Rickwood (8.30pm), Ken Bramall v Vinny Holden (8.45pm).

Board Two: Daz Latham v Paul Osmotherly (8.00pm), Christian Pratt v Dave Place (8.15pm), Daz Place v Con Nagi (8.30pm), Ryan Hoggarth v Graham Robinson (8.45pm).

Ladies Competition – Board Three: Heather Lodge v Sue Flannery (8pm), Natasha Eaves v Jeanette Parkinson (8.15 pm), Charlot Podmore-Nappin v Katy Hoggarth (8.30pm), Emma McNicol v Claire Wearden (8.45pm).