IT WAS a gala to remember for all those involved in more ways than one – but especially for the girls from Westholme.

The 100th Blackburn and Darwen District Gala for Year 7-9 pupils was always going to be a memorable affair but it was made that bit more special as Westholme’s retiring swimming teacher Mrs Jepson handed out the awards.

The centenary swimming event was held at QEGS pool where girls competed in individual and team events.

And it was Westholme who were crowned overall champions after winning five individual honours as well as the Year Nine medley relay.

But there were plenty of other honours shared out as well.

In Year Seven, Eve Clarkson of St Wilfrid’s won the breaststroke with Jessica Hobson of DACA first home in the freestyle.

And Natasha Rogan of Westholme won the butterfly.

St Bede’s enjoyed a successful gala and featured heavily among the honours in the older age groups.

Rosie Gebbie won the Year Eight freestyle with Brenna McPartland touching home first in the butterfly.

The breaststroke final was won by Westholme’s Charlotte Berry.

Charlotte and Natasha were also a part of the winning Westholme medley relay team.

Grace Orrell was the pick of the Year Nine swimmers, with the St Bede’s pupil winning both the individual medley and also the butterfly event.

St Bede’s also took first spot in the freestyle relay.

But Westholme underlined their talents as the best all-round team as May Daley won the breaststroke, Jessica Smith was first in the freestyle while Anya White finished ahead of the field in the backstroke final.