Burnley Bobcat swimmers clinch promotion

Burnley Bobcats swimmers

Burnley Bobcats swimmers

First published in Sport

Burnley Bobcats have clinched promotion after winning the Division Two of the National Arena Swimming League at Kendal Leisure Centre.

Having already won round one at Leigh in October and round two at Kendal in November, they travelled north again to Kendal to compete in the final. And once again the Bobcats swimmers all gave excellent performances, gaining 37 podium places out of 50 races, 23 of those being first place.

The Bobcats finished with 176, nine ahead of who were second with Preston 165, followed by Wigan (142), Copeland (139) and Clitheroe (114). The winning team included girls – Saffron Fenton, Anna Brown, Ellie Taylor, Madison Beswick, Lucy Cole, Grace Pickles, Emma Fothergill, Katie Rennolds, Erica Minozzi, Ella Sheridan, Kerry-Anne Holding, Marsha Banks and Abigail Pounder.

Boys team - Alex Minozzi, Matthew Mackay, Elliot Norman, Harry Pilkington, Robert Bryce, Dean Moorhouse, Thomas Mackay, William Beaven, Thomas Hamer, Jamie Sharpley, Dan Fox, Ben Edwards, Luke Pickles and Ben Nutter.

In previous rounds swimmers Danielle Baxter, Mia Sheridan and Jack Chapman all swam.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree