Cricket league awards prizes

Blackburn Muslims won the Pendle and District Cricket League title

Blackburn Muslims won the Pendle and District Cricket League title

First published in Sport Lancashire Telegraph: Photograph of the Author by , Sports reporter

BURNLEY Muslims and Pendle United Cricket Club were the dominant forces in the Pendle and District Cricket League.

The teams were among the honours when the silverware was dished out at the annual awards evening.

Burnley Muslims were crowned champions and were runners-up in the knockout cup which was won by Pendle United CC.

Watan were league runners-up.

Lancashire coach and Burnley CC batsman Qasim Ali was guest of honour.

The awards were chaired by Ijaz Hussain and presentations were also made by Dr QM Jehangir and Shafiq Ahmed.

  • Individual awards: Nabeel Ahmed of Bradley Boys (Most Runs scored); Mohammed Safdar of Azzak (Best individual score in league – 111); Tanveer Ahmed of United (Most wickets taken – 26); Mohammed Shakeel Butt of Whitefield (Best individual performance – 6 for one) The Pemberton Cup final man of the match was Tanveer Ahmed of United CC.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree