Lancashire Telegraph: Letters block Lancashire Telegraph: Forum block Lancashire Telegraph: Polls Lancashire Telegraph: Reviews block

Blogs and columns

Lancashire Telegraph: Jack Straw column Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw column Lancashire Telegraph: Shuiab Khan column Lancashire Telegraph: Helen Mead column Lancashire Telegraph: Diane Cooke column Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor blog

Jack Straw: We must break spiral of decline in bus services

Lancashire Telegraph: MP Jack Straw

2:35pm Thursday 17th April 2014

‘THE Single Fare is not the Standard Fare.” Pardon? “The Standard Fare for any journey at any time on any Transdev Lancashire United bus is £20.”

Diane Cooke: Cheap fashion can have high human cost

Lancashire Telegraph: D Cooke

11:20am Wednesday 16th April 2014

A LACE dress for £1.99 on a fashion retail website sold out within minutes, crashing the site.

Saturday sermon: So how has your Lent been?

Lancashire Telegraph: Blackburn Cathedral

5:16pm Tuesday 15th April 2014

Whether you have a Christian faith or not, you may have decided to give something up for Lent. Self-denial is challenging – it helps us to understand ourselves, our relationship with ‘things’ and most importantly to grow spiritually. 

Sir Bill Taylor: Food for thought!

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

5:14pm Tuesday 15th April 2014

Been for a few meals out recently, they do lay us open to a bit of public scrutiny, don't they!

Margo: I just can’t wait to see Her Majesty

Lancashire Telegraph: Queen Elizabeth II, East Lancashire

12:50pm Tuesday 15th April 2014

I AM excited and really looking forward to the Queen’s visit on Thursday.

Helen Mead: There’s just too much to choose from

Lancashire Telegraph: Helen Mead: The 'one foot in the grave' list

5:34pm Monday 14th April 2014

INVISIBLE Dry; Ultra Dry; Silk Dry: oh how I long for the days when a deodorant was just that, a stick of deodorant — plain and simple.

Nick Nunn wine column: April 14

Lancashire Telegraph: Nick Memoro Rosato Vino d’Italia

4:12pm Wednesday 16th April 2014

Nick Memoro Rosato Vino d’Italia, £9.99, Tesco

Shuiab Khan: The trials of a teenage paperboy

Lancashire Telegraph: Are you a Lancashire Telegraph regular? Feature in our ad campaign!

3:59pm Friday 11th April 2014

What do you expect me to get with £2.25?!

Blog: Yes! a room just for coal – and a garden

Lancashire Telegraph: SCAM VICTIM Margo Grimshaw

1:34pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

MEMORIES! I often wonder how true they are? Perhaps, as we get older, we temper them and make them how we like to think things were.

Letter: Peace is a human right

1:32pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

RE: ‘Nuisance neighbour booted out of Brierfield home’, it has taken a long time but finally all the services have pulled together to remove him.

Letter: It’s unfair on the children

1:31pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

TO those who have pointed out that the parents of these children spend their money on cigarettes and alcohol – fair enough; but what is not fair is to allow these children to suffer because of the bad choices their parents make.

Letter: They still keep their luxuries

1:31pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

FURTHER to the poverty and malnutrition debate, show me a malnourished child and I’ll show you a parent with a mobile phone contract, fags in the tracky bottom pockets and lager in the fridge.

Letter: Glad school is back on course

1:30pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

Leaders at Pleckgate High School are reportedly taking ‘urgent and decisive’ action.

Letter: Council power watered down

1:30pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

THIS is the big downside of ‘freeing schools from council interference’ (TM the last two UK governments) – council powers to intervene in schools have been stripped away so until there is a crisis, there is little they can do except try to nudge and persuade.

Letter: Exam students are losing out

1:30pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

BUT it’s all a bit late for all the students sitting their final exams in the next couple of months.

Letter: Astonishing salaries of society chiefs

1:29pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

AS a member of Skipton Building Society I would like to draw the attention of your readers to the annual report I have received from the society.

Blog: Speedy way to learn to slow down

Lancashire Telegraph: Helen Mead: The 'one foot in the grave' list

3:25pm Monday 7th April 2014

I cursed when I saw it. A police van parked at the side of the road, flashing intermittently as cars streamed past. A speed camera.

Letter: Justice sought over salaries

3:24pm Monday 7th April 2014

IN the letter (LT, April 5) on the poor, BuckoTheMoose is correct to highlight the relative difference between what we in Britain regard as poverty and what counts for poverty in other parts of the world.

Letter: We’ll all starve at this rate!

3:23pm Monday 7th April 2014

FOLLOWING your story on the shocking child malnutrition figures, the problem is that all household bills are rising but wages are not.

Letter: Potholes are being tackled

Lancashire Telegraph: Letter: Potholes are being tackled

3:22pm Monday 7th April 2014

COUN Ian Bevan’s letter about potholes (LT, March 22) was a masterpiece in claiming interest in a local issue while doing nothing to explain why this is happening or doing anything about it.

Letter: It will be ‘new’ old diesel units

3:20pm Monday 7th April 2014

They’ll probably need three trains to provide the planned hourly service from Manchester to Blackburn via Todmorden and Burnley.

Letter: Will one train be enough?

3:20pm Monday 7th April 2014

ONE second-hand train being provided to operate a service throughout the day? Just the one train! It’s not some airport monorail.

Letter: No strategy for growing rail demand

Lancashire Telegraph: Letter: No strategy for growing rail demand

3:19pm Monday 7th April 2014

SO, a new train has been confirmed for the faster service between East Lancs and Manchester (LT, April 4).

Comment: Fair play on debt collection

3:18pm Monday 7th April 2014

FOR most people, a visit from a bailiff means their debt has reached a pretty dire level.

REVIEW: Lloyd Cole, King George's Hall, Blackburn

4:27pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

"He can write a song can't he?"

Shuiab Khan: It’s good to get out of Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Mist over Blackburn

3:12pm Friday 4th April 2014

I think some of my friends are just too attached to Blackburn.

Jack Straw: Times have changed... now party faithful can Google us!

Lancashire Telegraph: MP Jack Straw

4:41pm Thursday 3rd April 2014

‘In Blackburn, we don’t like career women who use their maiden name,” a young Barbara Betts was told by the local Labour Party agent, minutes after she was chosen to fight the forthcoming 1945 General Election for Labour.

Letter: Making it easy for burglars

2:06pm Wednesday 2nd April 2014

THE stand-out line in your report ‘East Lancashire increase in burglaries’ (LT, March 31) is the fact that most of the crimes are through unlocked doors.

Letter: It’s absolute cowardice

2:06pm Wednesday 2nd April 2014

robberies like the one in which a pregnant Blackburn mum and child were held by hooded knifemen (LT, March 28) are becoming scarily frequent.

Letter: Plenty of sites elsewhere

2:05pm Wednesday 2nd April 2014

WHEN there are already several derelict sites in Colne where mills have been demolished, I don’t think there is any need to build on greenfield sites.

Letter: Plea to save green fields

2:05pm Wednesday 2nd April 2014

BOUNDARY Mill already has an empty store at its old site next to Asda with plenty of car parking, so why take green fields?

Letter: The lesser of two evils?

2:04pm Wednesday 2nd April 2014

WITH reference to the residents’ campaign against plans at Boundary Mill in Colne, up to 300 jobs does sound a lot for a garden centre.

Letter: Police should not be abused

2:03pm Wednesday 2nd April 2014

RE the story about the Clarets fan’s goal celebrations being ‘excessive’ – why should the police receive this abuse?

Letter: It will save on running costs

2:02pm Wednesday 2nd April 2014

MERGING Darwen ambulance and fire stations (LT, March 31) seems like a good idea. Instead of paying running costs for two sites, have both on one site.

Diane Cooke: Motherhood is not about age, but love

Lancashire Telegraph: D Cooke

11:45am Wednesday 2nd April 2014

The number of women over 50 having babies has more than doubled in five years - it amounts to about three a week.

Letter: Too cramped for new store

11:36am Tuesday 1st April 2014

flagship upmarket superstore deal to be signed in Blackburn? This is one sick joke!

Letter: How to keep kids off street

11:36am Tuesday 1st April 2014

THE kids of today do 11 years at school and when they leave at 16 they find it very difficult to find work. When I left school in the 1940s you could tender your notice at noon and have another job after lunch.

Letter: Standing up to the bullies

11:35am Tuesday 1st April 2014

WHAT I do support is anyone who is prepared to stand up to these bullies masquerading as our government.

Letter: Teachers aren’t the exception

11:35am Tuesday 1st April 2014

EAST Lancs teachers say parents back their strike (LT, March 27). Well I’m a parent and I don’t sympathise.

Letter: It’s a drug and it’s dangerous

11:34am Tuesday 1st April 2014

EVEN hardcore smokers can become anxious, panicky, suspicious or paranoid.

Letter: Why cannabis should be legal

Lancashire Telegraph: Some of the plants found during a police raid in Mitcham

11:34am Tuesday 1st April 2014

RE: ‘Burglary unearthed £240k cannabis farm in Burnley’ (LT, March 26), the sooner cannabis is legally regulated, the better.

Letter: Cameron gave pledge to act

11:32am Tuesday 1st April 2014

IN 2009 David Cameron pledged to crack down on violence against nurses and other NHS staff.

Letter: Respect for medical staff has gone

Lancashire Telegraph: The Royal Blackburn Hospital

11:29am Tuesday 1st April 2014

THE fact that police officers are to be permanently stationed at Blackburn A&E (LT, March 27) is a sign of the times we now live in.

My father would wait up for me

Lancashire Telegraph: SCAM VICTIM Margo Grimshaw

10:12am Tuesday 1st April 2014

LIFE is so strange — sometimes what turns out to be a big event in your life, usually happens accidentally.

Nick Nunn: Wine column - March 31

Lancashire Telegraph: Gallo Family Vineyards Summer White, £6.99, most retailers

4:57pm Monday 31st March 2014

Gallo Family Vineyards Summer Red, £6.99, most retailers

Saturday sermon: Bishop of Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Bishop Julian Henderson

1:12pm Tuesday 1st April 2014

Over this weekend many families will express how important their human relationships are, as they celebrate Mothering Sunday.

Feathered friends’ boom time

Lancashire Telegraph: HOUSE SPARROW: Once a familiar sight, now a rare visitor to North-East back gardens

1:50pm Friday 28th March 2014

THE much-loved house sparrow appears to be making a bit of a comeback in the gardens of East Lancashire.

Enforcing safety in hospitals

Lancashire Telegraph: The Royal Blackburn Hospital

5:10pm Thursday 27th March 2014

THE A&E department at the Royal Blackburn Hospital has seen a dramatic rise in patient numbers in recent years. Staff deal with many different health problems and illnesses 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Jack Straw: You just can’t win in the worst job in politics

Lancashire Telegraph: MP Jack Straw

5:10pm Thursday 27th March 2014

The bear garden of Prime Minister’s Questions may tell you otherwise, but there are a lot of friendships across the party divide.

REVIEW: Arthur Miller’s The Crucible

Lancashire Telegraph: The cast of The Crucible take part in a dress rehearsal at the ACE Centre in Nelson.

2:30pm Thursday 27th March 2014

THE witch hunt exhibited in Arthur Miller’s The Crucible, penned in the 1950s, may date back to the 1600s, but the play’s themes echo on in modern society.



Your local newsYourTelegraph


Your Say Your Telegraph



Essential links



Local Information

Enter your postcode, town or place name

House prices »   Schools »   Crime »   Hospitals »

click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree