Lancashire Telegraph: Letters block Lancashire Telegraph: Forum block Lancashire Telegraph: Polls Lancashire Telegraph: Reviews block

Blogs and columns

Lancashire Telegraph: Jack Straw column Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw column Lancashire Telegraph: Shuiab Khan column Lancashire Telegraph: Helen Mead column Lancashire Telegraph: Diane Cooke column Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor blog

Jack Straw: Close protection officers do a near impossible job

Lancashire Telegraph: MP Jack Straw

3:50pm Thursday 30th October 2014

Straight after the 2010 General Election I had to go on a big adventure. Buy a mobile ‘phone.

Diane Cooke: He’s got nowhere to run and nowhere to hide. I like that.

Lancashire Telegraph: Diane  Cooke

3:07pm Wednesday 29th October 2014

YOU never really get to know someone until you live with them. I say this because after almost four years of “dating”, my partner has decided to take a chance on mad, bad Cookie and we’re now living together.

Margo Grimshaw: I think we are apt to take our councillors for granted

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

1:30pm Tuesday 28th October 2014

ON Saturday evening Bill and I greatly enjoyed the Trafalgar dinner held in the Blackburn Cathedral crypt.

Helen Mead: Hi Facebook, farewell to private life

Lancashire Telegraph: Facebook logo

4:02pm Monday 27th October 2014

I’M loathe to admit it, but I have a Facebook site. “Don’t call it a site, it’s a page,” my 16-year-old daughter sniped, “and you need a photo.”

Sir Bill Taylor: Carving a niche?

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

11:35am Monday 27th October 2014

I have a knack, aka a noseyness for chatting to people, for them to tell great stories.

Strictly Come Dancing 2014 Week 5

Lancashire Telegraph:

11:33am Monday 27th October 2014

Week five already!

Saturday Sermon: Gillian Beeley

Lancashire Telegraph: PLANS Blackburn Cathedral

11:42am Monday 27th October 2014

I think it was Gandhi who said ‘the true measure of any society can be found in how it treats its most vulnerable members.’

Shuiab Khan: Ironing does manage to iron out all of life’s problems

Lancashire Telegraph: We apparently spend 10 years of our lives doing household chores

2:10pm Friday 24th October 2014

BEING able to iron is one of the most important skills anyone can have.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Inn at the Station - Clitheroe

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:31pm Thursday 23rd October 2014

IT’S been a while since I ventured into the Ribble Valley. An area with many outstanding watering holes. So, on a blustery, rain-swept day, it was extra comforting, to seek sanctuary, in one of the locality’s establishments.

Jack Straw: Workload has risen but our stock has plummeted

Lancashire Telegraph: Jack Straw

2:20pm Thursday 23rd October 2014

THAT’S outrageous” claimed a North-West MP.

Strictly Come Dancing Blog - Week 4

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:15pm Tuesday 21st October 2014

WE should now be seeing the celebrities dividing into two groups, the Strictly Ballroom leapers and the Ballroom Blitz blunderers, the male celebrities are very strong this year, do you think we could end up with an all male final?

Margo Grimshaw: A throwback to my childhood when London was a big city

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

2:44pm Tuesday 21st October 2014

CROSS words. No, not rows and arguments, but I’ve become somewhat of a crossword addict — well maybe addict is too a strong a word.

Helen Mead: My life in past phone messages

Lancashire Telegraph: Helen Mead

1:50pm Monday 20th October 2014

THE nicest thing about my old mobile phone was the stored messages.

Nick Nunn wine column: October 20

Lancashire Telegraph:

12:00pm Monday 20th October 2014

Sara and Sara Friulano 2010, £9.49, 31dover.com

Shuiab Khan: Living without a specific gadget is a real problem for some people

Lancashire Telegraph: £37k iPad theft leaves school 'sickened'

1:58pm Friday 17th October 2014

Are you able to live without a specific gadget? Having acquired an i-Pad some months ago, I have realised that it really has to be the best gadget ever invented.

Disney On Ice: 100 Years of Magic

Lancashire Telegraph:

12:15pm Friday 17th October 2014

NO matter how old you are, there is something about Disney that brings out the magic of childhood.

Jack Straw: It is time the international community did not just mouth words

Lancashire Telegraph: Jack Straw

1:20pm Thursday 16th October 2014

There was an historic vote in the House of Commons on Monday.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Cross Keys, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:03pm Thursday 16th October 2014

MY destination this week stops off at one of the oldest pubs in the locality: an inn which, although rebuilt in 1905, originally dated back to around 1750.

Margo Grimshaw: It was the time when frozen hadn’t happened

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

12:53pm Tuesday 14th October 2014

I FIRST met Edith my friend many, many years ago when my son Andrew was running pop concerts at King George’s Hall.

Helen Mead: Spend your money on enjoying life

Lancashire Telegraph: Helen Mead: The 'one foot in the grave' list

3:20pm Monday 13th October 2014

WHEN I was a child there were no property programmes on TV.

Nick Nunn wine column: October 12

Lancashire Telegraph:

12:00pm Monday 13th October 2014

Extra Special Viognier 2013, £5, Asda

Sir Bill Taylor: The play's the thing...

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

11:30am Monday 13th October 2014

Ever been to a play or a show, live in a theatre?

Strictly Come Dancing 2014 blog: Week 3

Lancashire Telegraph:

11:34am Monday 13th October 2014

One down and fourteen to go until we crown the strictly celebrity champion 2014, its Movie week and with an opening that was more like the pantomime of horrors and I really don’t understand why Craig, Len and Bruno sang “there is no business like show business”!!!

Saturday sermon: Toby Webber

Lancashire Telegraph: PLANS Blackburn Cathedral

10:00am Saturday 11th October 2014

THIS week I’ve been privileged to spend just over twenty four hours away from the office.

Shuiab Khan: It seems that temporary traffic lights have taken over my town

Lancashire Telegraph: Timely traffic light remember for Taunton pedestrians

1:34pm Friday 10th October 2014

THE bane of my life at the moment seems to be road works. This week, I have spent more time sat in my car trying to get into my office than anything else.

Jack Straw: Ransoms not the answer in battle on terrorism

Lancashire Telegraph: MP Jack Straw

12:43pm Thursday 9th October 2014

Of all the difficult issues I had to deal with as a Minister, the kidnapping of British citizens abroad was one of the toughest.

PUB OF THE WEEK: STAFF OF LIFE

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:12pm Thursday 9th October 2014

THIS week, I plucked up a little courage for the pub review. I took the liberty of straying over the border, into the White Rose county.

Margo Grimshaw: Divorce and separations were a big social stigma

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

2:13pm Tuesday 7th October 2014

JUST you wait while your dad comes home’, or, ‘Do that again and I shall have to tell your dad’.

HELEN MEAD: A major life change for all of us

Lancashire Telegraph: Photograph of the Author

3:14pm Monday 6th October 2014

MY eldest daughter has left home. She may never live with us again. She has been in our care for 18 years and we have strived to keep her safe and well.

Nick Nunn wine column: October 6

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:00pm Monday 6th October 2014

Inycon Nero D’Avola 2013, £5.99, Waitrose

Sir Bill Taylor: Great week?

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

4:33pm Friday 3rd October 2014

We're retired. Time to relax, get a recliner?

Shuiab Khan: I’m all for the Eid spirit, but after a few hours I’m hugged out

Lancashire Telegraph: Eid Milad preparations in full swing. Karachi

1:50pm Friday 3rd October 2014

TODAY is Friday and this weekend will be the Eid festival.

Diane Cooke: We were greeted by a huge door covered in graffiti

Lancashire Telegraph: D Cooke

2:03pm Wednesday 1st October 2014

I’ve just returned from a week in Bilbao in Spain’s Basque country. It was an unusual experience.

Strictly Come Dancing Blog 2014: Week One

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:13pm Monday 29th September 2014

SERIES eleven and with fifteen new celebrities, however I do feel that maybe we are stretching that term slightly but how excited should we be as this is now the number one weekend entertainment show with the highest ratings.

Helen Mead: What has the world come to?

Lancashire Telegraph: Helen Mead

2:20pm Monday 29th September 2014

WHEN I was young, subjects picked apart and discussed at length on television tended to be hard-hitting.

Nick Nunn wine column: September 29

Lancashire Telegraph:

11:46am Monday 29th September 2014

Indomita Gran Reserva 2013, £5.49, Co-Op

Shuiab Khan: You have to differentiate between stingy and greedy

Lancashire Telegraph: GUILTY: A Llandeilo man has admitted falsely claiming £4,861 in Housing and Council Tax benefits.

2:32pm Friday 26th September 2014

There are those who say Northern folk are stingy. I disagree with that notion.

Sir Bill Taylor: Your sporting hero?

Lancashire Telegraph: An abseiler works on hanging a drape with a Ryder Cup logo on the side of a spectator grandstand in preparation for the start of the Ryder Cup golf tournament in Gleneagles, Scotland, Sunday, Sept. 21, 2014.  The U.S. team arrives for the Ryder Cup Monday

10:10am Friday 26th September 2014

SO, the Ryder Cup's here again already!

PUB OF THE WEEK: Victoria Hotel, Great Harwood

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:30pm Thursday 25th September 2014

THIS week I call in at one of the finest examples of an early 20th-century pub, a Grade Two-listed hostelry, with an interior that has remained virtually unchanged since its construction in 1905.

Jack Straw: Whirlwind of change since first conference

Lancashire Telegraph: MP Jack Straw

1:57pm Thursday 25th September 2014

THIS week’s Labour Party Conference in Manchester was the fortieth I’ve attended. It will be my last as an elected MP.

Margo Grimshaw: Out would come the best china and cloth

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

1:50pm Tuesday 23rd September 2014

WELL, here we are, well into September and the field behind our house is still bathed in sunshine.

Helen Mead: Learning to drive’s an ‘L’ of an ordeal

Lancashire Telegraph: Photograph of the Author

2:59pm Monday 22nd September 2014

THERE was relief all round when my daughter passed her driving test.

Nick Nunn wine column - September 22

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:10pm Monday 22nd September 2014

Merlot Brazil 2013, £6.74, Waitrose

Saturday sermon: Rt Rev. Julian Henderson

Lancashire Telegraph: Bishop of Blackburn Julian Henderson

10:40am Saturday 20th September 2014

In October, which is just around the corner, we hold Harvest Thanksgiving Services to remember and give thanks for the very extraordinary order, pattern, and variety of God’s created world which provides us with our daily sustenance of food and drink.

Shuiab Khan: The union was being compared to a marriage

Lancashire Telegraph:

11:40am Friday 19th September 2014

NOW, as I write Scotland is going to the polls and today as you read this we will either be celebrating independence or the union.

Sir Bill Taylor: The Scottish Question!

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

10:50am Friday 19th September 2014

I didn't expect I would but I did!

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Talbot Hotel, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:54pm Thursday 18th September 2014

THIS week I call in at one of the area’s premier drinking dens.

Jack Straw: Unique way to tackle crime is paying off

Lancashire Telegraph: MP Jack Straw

1:30pm Thursday 18th September 2014

Hello, Mr Straw, I’ve met you before,” said a prisoner in Garth Prison, in 2008. “In Brixton Prison, in 1998”.

Diane Cooke: Lessons to learn over sharing of explicit pictures

Lancashire Telegraph: D Cooke

2:01pm Wednesday 17th September 2014

ANYONE who has ever done any internet dating knows there comes a time during an online conversation when it can all go wrong. By that, I mean, take a turn for the overtly sexual.

Margo Grimshaw: The solution isn’t war war but jaw jaw

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

2:53pm Tuesday 16th September 2014

MY mother was born in Scotland and so I have always felt a somewhat tenuous affinity — and not always a fond one.


click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree