HIGH school leavers were congratulated and thanked for their work in this summer’s GCSEs.

St Augustine’s RC High School, Billington, held its prize giving ceremony last night where last year’s Year 11 students returned to pick up their prizes.

Headteacher Anthony McNamara congratulated his former pupils in front of their parents and teachers.

The ceremony was also attended by the Mayor and Consort of The Ribble Valley, Coun Lois and Mr Gordon Rimmer, along with the Mayor and Mayoress of Hyndburn, Coun Malcolm and Mrs Irene Pritchard and the Deputy Town Mayor of Clitheroe, Coun Simon Amstell.

The guest speaker was the new chairman of governors Philip Gunn.

Mr McNamara said: “The stability and record of sustained achievement we have enjoyed as a school community are among the reasons why we continue to be a popular choice for parents.

“Children who enjoy their time at school are more likely to be successful pupils and this summer we achieved another excellent set of GCSE results with 87 per cent of our pupils achieving five or more A* to C grades at GCSE.

In total 67 per cent of the Year 11 cohort achieved five or more top grades including GCSEs in Maths and English.

“Above all I want to thank you, our students, with whom we have been privileged to share the past five years.”

AWARDS: Amongst the prize-winners were: Portfolio Award for Art, Simon Wells; Philip Morris Prize for History, Jack Hancock; St Augustine’s Prize for Biology, James Golding; Prize for Child Development, Amy Gouldsborough; Cope Award, Adrian Zeman; Cup for Drama, Harriet Baker; St Augustine’s Award for Electronics, Samuel West; St Augustine’s Award for Engineering, John Parker; Merit Cup For English, Olivia Salerno; Margaret Ainsworth Memorial Sliver Salver for Literature & Drama, Stephanie Mason; St Augustine’s Award for Food, David Clucas; Prize for Geography, Samuel Walsh; St Augustine’s Award for Graphics, Rebecca Gill; Prize for Health and Social Care, Georgina Sheridan; The Springhill Care Group Business Communications Systems Award, Luke Meredith; MFL Award for Outstanding Effort in Languages, Alec McAvoy; The Lambert Love of Languages Award, Thomas Dunne; St Augustine’s Award for Mathematics, Simon Wells; Heyhurst Cup for Music, Patrick Brown; Peter Rose Cup for Musical Endeavour, Ryan Hodgson; St Augustine’s Prize for Physics, Jonathan Stockton; Prize for Religious Studies, Roxanne Leather; St Augustine’s Prize for Resistant Materials, Luke Anderson; Sandra Coulter Trophy for Contribution to School Sports, Hannah Wood and David Curran; BTEC Sport, Amy Gouldsborough; Grogan Trophy for GCSE PE, Toby Morgan; St Augustine’s Prize for Science, Christopher Harkin; Contribution to Pre-Teaching Scheme, Melissa Berry; Cup for Contribution to Young Enterprise, Luke Meredith and Tobin Joseph; Outstanding Contribution to Cafod & Fairtrade, David Bolton; Simone Martin Trophy for Effort & Determination, William Taylor and Christopher Wharton. PTFA Award for Endeavour & Achievement; Thomas Shackleton & Christopher Harkin. Wardrobe Trophy for Dedication & Achievement, Emily Rawcliff and Kathryn Tattersall; Anthony Leecy Cup for Dedication & Achievement, David Bolton; Penelope Alden and Aaron Phelan; Alan Fish Progress Award, Charlotte Smith; Jean Bell Memorial Prize for Progress, Biddy-Jo Singleton; Bob Ainsworth Memorial Prize for Further Education, Liselle Hollin; Ryan Hodgson, St Augustine’s Sliver Salver for Runner Up to Best GCSE Results, James Golding; Tobin Joseph and Jonathan Stockton; Monsignor Guerin Rosebowl for Best GCSE Results, Brigid O’Reilly; Pupil Council Award, David Clucas; Zen Ciezarek Award for Overall Contribution to the Extra Curricular Life of the School, Katherine Wlodarczyk; Whalley Lions Shield for Service to the School Community, Brigid O’Reilly; Osbaldeston Trophy for Service to the School Community, Gabrielle Davies; Patrick Roberts Award for Contribution to Year 11, Daniel McGrath and James Stevens; Peter Webster Memorial Prize for Overall Contribution to Upper School Deputy Head Girls, Gabrielle Davies and Brigid O’Reilly; Deputy Head Boys, Tobin Joseph and Joshua Uttley; Lawrenson Trophy for Head Boy, James Golding and Head Girl Marisa Galea; Hyndburn & Ribbles Valley Sports Ambassador, Emily Rawcliffe. Basketball - Hyndburn & Ribble Valley Champions & Lancashire Cup Winner, Captain: Thomas Astin-Kilgallom; Badminton- Hyndburn & Ribble Valley Plate Winners, Captain: David Curran; Netball- Hyndburn & Ribble Valley League & Tournament Winners, Captain: Hannah Wood; Cross Country: Hyndburn & Ribble Valley Overall Winning Team, Representative: James Stevens; Hyndburn & Ribble Valley Overall Winning Boys’ Team, Representative: Ryan Hodgson; Sports Person of the Year, Marisa Galea; Headteacher's Prize Awarded to Kathryn Tattersall and Charles Waddington.