TWO former Hyndburn mayors have been officially awarded the title of Honorary Alderman of the borough.

The Lancashire Telegraph reported in July that Marlene Haworth and Janet Storey were set to be nominated for the award.

Mrs Haworth was mayor for 2015/16 and served as a St Oswalds councillor for 12 years from 2004 to 2016.

Mrs Storey served as a councillor for 12 years over two spells, from 1998 until 2002 and 2003 to 2011, representing the Clayton-le-Moors ward.

Hyndburn Council leader, Cllr Miles Parkinson, said: “On behalf of the whole Council I want to say a big thanks to Marlene and Janet who both served their communities well, with passion and dedication.

"They also both served the borough as mayor with huge aplomb raising lots of money for local good causes during their respective mayoral years."