PUPILS were praised for helping their Rossendale sports college make the most progress in Lancashire for the benchmark five or more GCSE grades A* to C including English and maths.

At the presentation evening for Fearns Community Sports College, Stacksteads, headteacher Nigel Dawson told pupils: “We are absolutely delighted that you achieved a school record in achieving 48 per cent five or more A* to C GCSEs including English and maths – an increase of 15 per cent on last year.

“This improvement is the equal highest in the whole of Lancashire. It has certainly raised the bar in terms of expectations at Fearns.”

Mr Dawson explained how the school’s Further Faster Higher motto was derived from the Olympic slogan and, just like the Olympians, the 2012 Fearns students had also smashed all previous records.

He said: “On becoming headteacher, I was determined that the pupils from Fearns should be able to achieve in their examinations and truly compete with similar schools across the country.

“Your achievements have made a very clear statement – pupils from Fearns can and do make the same and better progress than pupils from any other school.”

Mr Dawson praised their self-belief, confidence and determination and the support they had received from teachers, staff and parents.


Outstanding examination success: The Team Challenge Award, Megan Cartridge; The National Westminster Bank Award, Leigh Wood; The Further, Faster, Higher Award, Gary Coppack; The Bannister Award, Jade Varley; The Hillary Award, Kate Stott; The MacArthur Award, McCauley Young; The Fearns Community Sports College Merit Awards, Joseph Bracken, Olivia Foy, Hannah Lageard and Conal Myers.

Achievement Awards: Art and Design: Lauren Lord; 3D Art: Stephen Ashurst; Art Textiles: Megan Cartridge; Child Development - The Edwards Award: Anna McGreal; CiDA: Katie Brown; DiDA: Kate Stott; Drama: Dominic Noon; English: Jordan Houlker; English Literature: Megan Cartridge; Food Technology: Amy Tudor; Design Technology - Product Design: Ryan Murgatroyd; Design Technology - Resistant Materials: Mary-Jane Craythorne; Fieldwork in Geography - The George Bristow Award, Conal Myers; History: Gary Coppack; Health and Social Care: Samantha Rhodes; Religious Studies: Leigh Wood; Citizenship: Jade Varley; Mathematics - The Susan Moxham Award: Jordan Houlker; Modern Languages – French: Katy O’Hara; Spanish: Olivia Foy; Music: Jordan Page; Personal Development: Samuel Clayton.

Science: McCauley Young; BTEC Science: Brogan Calcutt; Interest and Endeavour in Science - The Brian Smith Award: Hannah James; PE: Jack Wilson; BTEC Sport: Rebecca Fagg; Exceptional progress in Mathematics: Kade Leary; Progress - The Fearns Community Sports College Award: Josie Butler; Endeavour - The Fearns Community Sports College Award: Stephen Ashurst; Leadership - The Army Leadership Award: Mackenzie Harrop; Service to the Community - The Barry J Crabtree Memorial Award: Ben Clifford; Commitment - The Fearns Community Sports College Special Award: Ryan Murgatroyd; Excellence - The Mayor of Rossendale’s Award: Jordan Houlker.