THE new youth MP for Blackburn with Darwen will be announced today.

Young people went to the polls last week to vote.

Up for election were seven candidates seeking to take over from incumbent Hamza Khan.

In the running were Elle Walsh and Aliyah Shah both aged 15, Zachariya Bux, 14, the current deputies, Joshua Logan, 17 and Ummaih Shah, 15 as well as Aysha Dagra, 16, and Kathleen McGurk, 16.

Mr Khan was recently awarded a One Voice award for Young leader of the year for his role as a youth MP.

The MP’s include attending the council’s executive and scrutiny boards, representing young people’s voices in meetings and events and regularly visiting youth clubs and school councils from across the borough.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony at Blackburn Town Hall.