SCHOOLS across East Lancashire have closed today as teachers join in a national strike.

Dozens of high schools and primary schools have decided to take part in either a full, or partial, closure as teachers strike over pay, conditions and pensions.

It comes after Lancashire union leaders said teachers were leaving the profession to stack shelves and drive buses.

See if your school has notified closed here and here 

(If your school is not listed, please check directly with the school)

Blackburn and Lancashire NUT representative Simon Jones said: “Teachers deeply regret the disruption caused by this strike to parents and teachers.

“The Government’s refusal, however, to engage to resolve the dispute means we have no alternative other than to demonstrate the seriousness of our concerns.

“Our concerns are not just for teachers, but for the future standard and provision of education”.


Lancashire LEA primary schools completing a whole school all day closure include Burnley Casterton Primary School, Chatburn CE School, and Rosewood Primary, in Burnley. Partial closures for reception and years 3 and 4 will affect Great Harwood Primary School.

Burnley Brunshaw Primary will also open for reception and year 6 pupils only.

Partial closures will also affect high schools such as Holy Cross and Southlands High in Chorley In Blackburn with Darwen, the majority of primary schools, a total of 32, will close for the whole day and 26 have confirmed they will remain open.

Closures Audley Junior School, Meadowhead Junior and Infant School, Shadsworth Junior School, Cedars Primary and Brookhouse Primary School St Stephen’s Tockholes CofE Primary School, St Paul's Roman Catholic Primary School, Feniscowles will also close completely.

Darwen Vale High School is to carry out a complete closure.

In the Ribble Valley, Bowland High will close to all pupils except those in year 11.

Blackburn with Darwen Schools who will be undertaking just a partial closure include St Thomas’s Centre, Feniscowles Primary School, Witton Park High School, Our Lady and St John Catholic College and Newfield School.