A HEADTEACHER paid tribute to pupils who surpassed the national average for GCSEs at an annual prize night.

Des Callaghan was speaking at the prize-giving at St Bede’s RC High School in Blackburn.

Pupils from all year groups were rewarded for their academic achievements and GCSE certificates were handed out to last year’s school leavers.

Mr Callaghan said: “I am proud of the academic achievements of the school.

“We had 77 per cent of pupils achieve five A* to C, including maths and English, which is the bar the Government uses to measure schools.

“St Bede’s is way above the national average and among the best in Lancashire, with 94 per cent of children achieving five A* to C across the board.”

Andrea Heyes, who organised the night, said: “The prize night was a fantastic feast of success. About 450 people attended the event to celebrate the success and hard work of pupils, parents and staff.”


Subject Awards

Religious Education: Thomas Tierney Art: Helen Davies Design Technology: Cairnley Mckenna Drama: Miranda Myles Dance: Nicole McHugh English: Ruth Nicholson Food Technology: Rosie Weddle Geography: Eleanor Rawstron History: Anna Moorman ICT: Edward Harkness Mathematics: James Jackson French: Alexandra Gandeera Spanish: Nell Murtagh Music: Jenifer Parker and Harrison Collins Science: Roksana Wilson Victor Ludorum PE: Jack Ellison Victrix Ludorum PE: Taylor Stuart Performing Arts: Brandon Holthom

Special Awards

The Hatton Trophy The High Achievers Award: Ruth Nicholson Catenian Prize for Head Boy: Jack Ellison Governors Prize for head Girl: Rebecca Bardon D of E Award: Jake Scott Christopher Bradshaw Award for Sporting Achievement: Catherine Crewe The Moran Trophy for Kindness and Consideration to Others: Brendon Hennigan The Ted Copper Award for Sportsmanship: James Jackson The Sharples Trophy for Positive Attitude: Kerry McCarr The Knights of St Columba Award for Outstanding Progress: Paul Casey The Catholic Life of the School: Laura Halpin The Dean Rylands Award for the person who best represented the school ethos: Brandon Holtom The Leech Trophy for Endeavor: Howard Livesey

High Achieveing Awards Children who gained eight A* - A grades

Alexandra Allen, Rebecca Bardon, Matthew Birch, Scott Booth, Paul Casey, Tom Chen, Harrison Collins, Katie Grimshaw, Laura Halpin, Brandon Holtom, James Jackson, Charlotte McManus, Nell Murtagh, Ruth Nicholson, Erhovbome Odudu, Jenny Parker, Samantha Potts, Eleanor Rawstron, Edward Rushworth, Amy Smith, Stuart Taylor, Emma Thomason, John Wilcock, Roksana Wilson.