Review: The Red Brick Tea Room, Todmorden Cricket Club

11:40am Thursday 8th May 2014

WATCHING cricket in the Lancashire League is one of life’s little treasures. There are few finer ways to spend a Sunday afternoon than to take in the action at one of the 14 famous grounds.

Review: Kismat Kebab House, Manchester Road, Nelson

12:30pm Thursday 1st May 2014

NELSON has long been well served with takeaways, many of which last the course and stand the test of time.

Review: Khan’s Railway Street, Nelson

10:25am Tuesday 22nd April 2014

AS I have written about on numerous occasions in this column over the years the town of Nelson cannot be accused of being short on the takeaway front.

Review: Captain Cook's, Railway Street, Nelson

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Captain Cook's, Railway Street, Nelson

12:10pm Thursday 13th March 2014

HALF of East Lancashire had a beast of a day on Sunday.

Review: Poppadom City, Brierfield

3:15pm Thursday 21st November 2013

BRIERFIELD used to be known for its pubs. Back in the day you would need some serious stamina to make it through the town on a Friday night crawl before then heading off to the bright lights and nightclubs of Burnley or Nelson.

Review: FOLLIES Manchester Road, Nelson

11:09am Tuesday 22nd October 2013

I’VE just spent two weeks in bonny Scotland - and I really wanted to bring you, the reader, an insight into some of the finest fast food available north of the Border.

Review: Taste of India, Barrowford

5:08pm Thursday 19th September 2013

THANKS to the happy and nearly always pleasurable knack of penning these weekly words quite a few of my mates reckon my diet consists entirely of kebabs and fried chicken - maybe even at the same time.

Review: MI MI’S Bacup Road, Rawtenstall

4:49pm Thursday 1st August 2013

A DAY out in Rawtenstall normally finishes for me with the delights of the famous Ilex Chippy.

Review: The New Hong Kong, Colne Road, Burnley

5:36pm Thursday 25th July 2013

I AM still reeling from the shock of seeing salad mentioned in this column the other week.

Review: Rau Senh, Brierfield

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Rau Senh, Brierfield

4:47pm Friday 24th May 2013

SIMPLE things can often offer the greatest of pleasures.

Review: Ling Hu, Clitheroe

5:37pm Friday 17th May 2013

PEOPLE assume, often with pages of evidence to back up their presumption, that I only eat kebabs and pies.

Review: DOBO, Nelson

1:46pm Friday 8th March 2013

NELSON is awash with takeaways. It seems that just about everywhere you turn there is a kebab shop, an Indian or a fried chicken franchise

Review: Flava, Nelson

10:41am Friday 1st February 2013

TAKING kebab-eating seriously can be a tough test. It can be a challenge to find a takeaway you haven’t tried before, so often the best way to approach it is by word of mouth.

Review: Dixy Chicken, Manchester Road, Nelson

5:01pm Friday 25th January 2013

IF you take a look down the list of takeaways on many a main street you could almost lose your bearings.

What's on: Spice of India, Nelson

5:09pm Friday 18th January 2013

THIS column almost didn’t exist in its form as a takeaway review as I was incredibly close to breaking my own rule — well, one of them.

Review: Poppadom City, Brierfield

5:14pm Friday 9th November 2012

The name Poppadom City is a strange one, especially as the takeaway that bears that moniker doesn't just specialise in poppadoms and is in Brierfield, which cannot be described as being a city.

Review: Santa's, Leeds Road, Nelson

Lancashire Telegraph: Santa's in Nelson

10:28am Monday 5th November 2012

CONFESSION time. I am not normally the biggest fan of pizza.

Review: Rehman's Grill, Nelson

4:56pm Friday 7th September 2012

Nelson’s Broadway is a quiet place on a midweek night.

Review: ASHA, Colne Road, Brierfield

4:52pm Friday 13th July 2012

A CHANGE, as the experts say, can be as good as a rest.

Review: Chopstick's House, Brierfield

3:57pm Tuesday 26th June 2012

BRIERFIELD is a town with an ever-decreasing number of shops.

Review: Saffron Bangla, Nelson

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Saffron Bangla, Nelson

4:37pm Friday 15th June 2012

ON a damp and miserable Friday night at the end of a long week you sometimes just can’t beat a good chicken tikka masala.

Review: Kismat, Nelson

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Kismat, Nelson

4:03pm Friday 18th May 2012

THIS week I heard a story that makes you realise why it is so important that takeaways exist . . . .and why some folk would actually starve if curry houses and kebab shops were not on every side street.

Review: Captain Cook's, Railway Street, Nelson

Lancashire Telegraph: CAPTAIN COOK’S Railway Street, Nelson

3:59pm Friday 30th March 2012

OH for the good old days in Nelson, the days when you used to roll out of the El Tropicano, Blueberries or Roxy and head across to kebab heaven on Railway Street.

Review: Jeans Bakery, Stubbins, Ramsbottom

Lancashire Telegraph: Jeans Bakery, Stubbins, Ramsbottom

2:56pm Friday 26th August 2011

‘HOME made pies and cakes, just like grandma use to make.’

Review: Cissy Greens, Haslingden

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Cissy Greens, Haslingden

4:44pm Tuesday 16th August 2011

You’re not bowled over with the choice on offer at Cissy Greens.

Review: China Garden, Colne

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: China Garden, Colne

3:28pm Friday 13th May 2011

NEVER mind the redevelopment of Colne’s 'jewel in the crown' Shackleton Hall.

Review: Cemetery chippy, Colne

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Cemetery chippy, Colne

4:11pm Thursday 12th May 2011

ALTHOUGH it is close to Colne’s main burial ground, Cemetery Chippy is definitely not grave.


click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree