Lancashire TelegraphFood news, restaurant reviews and recipes from the Lancashire Telegraph

When news happens, text LT and your photos and videos to 80360. Or contact us by email or phone.

Review: McDonald's, King William Street, Blackburn

11:53am Thursday 24th April 2014

WALK past any McDonald’s at pretty much any time of the day and you are pretty much guaranteed to be greeted by a large group of teenagers hovering close to the door.

Review: The Pound Bakery, Blackburn Mall

12:16pm Thursday 10th April 2014

BUYING something for a pound is some people’s idea of fun. I mean just look at the number of pound (or even 99p) shops that have sprung up around East Lancashire over the years.

Review: Happy Haddock, Blackburn

3:21pm Friday 21st March 2014

IT is a policy of this column - honestly it is not just thrown together - that when a takeaway gets a ‘makeover’ it will get a second review.

Review: Dales Pies, Blackburn Market

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Dales Pies, Blackburn  Market

2:40pm Thursday 12th December 2013

THERE is a suggestion made by many people that I am quite partial to the odd pie. Sometimes I will even enjoy two or even three if they are particularly good ones.

Review: Oasis, Blackburn

3:05pm Thursday 24th October 2013

BLACKBURN’S Oasis is a regular haunt of mine - but read on. This is not a re-hash of an old review, nor a blatant case of lazy eating.

Review: Oddie's Bakery, Blackburn

6:04pm Friday 6th September 2013

ODDIES is an East Lancashire insitition. The Nelson-based bakery has been around for more than 100 years - and people who don’t like their pies and pastries really don’t know their foodstuffs in my considered opinion.

Review: Chang's, Blackburn

3:51pm Thursday 22nd August 2013

A COUPLE of years ago I had one of my worst dining experiences when I got a takeaway from Chang’s in Blackburn’s Darwen Street.

Review: The Nile Original, Limefield, Blackburn

5:10pm Thursday 15th August 2013

SOME people say you should never go back. If you have a good meal at a takeaway, invariably your chances of having a bad ’un next time up are seriously increased.

Review: Miami Fried Chicken, Darwen Street, Blackburn

4:24pm Thursday 8th August 2013

INSTEAD of a food review, can I write about the 12 pints of Guinness I am going to drink?’

Review: Sizzles and Grills, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Sizzles, Blackburn

3:56pm Thursday 18th July 2013

“I’ve never seen anyone eat in that place over the road,” mused a pal of mine the other night as I got stuck into a post-work pint in Blackburn town centre.

Review: The Eatin’ Place & Takeaway, Blackburn

4:20pm Thursday 11th July 2013

SANDWICHES: You know you’re on to a winner when it takes more than one attempt to eat.

Review: Harry’s, Johnston Street, Blackburn

4:29pm Thursday 4th July 2013

AS advertising slogans for a takeaway go, it is, how shall we say, unusual.

Review: Morrison's Salad Bar, Blackburn

2:12pm Friday 31st May 2013

THIS week’s takeaway review is for those readers seeking an alternative to regular columnist Matt Donlan’s tour of East Lancashire kebab shops.

Review: Tasty Spot, Blackburn

1:25pm Friday 10th May 2013

EXPERTS in merchandising always insist their job is important. They say that how they promote a product, whether it be a tin of beans or a £100k sports car, really does matter.

Review: Bedford’s Cooked Meat, Blackburn Market

3:14pm Friday 3rd May 2013

A COOKED meat stall may not seem like the most obvious of choices when it comes to grabbing your lunch – but sometimes it is well worth trying something different.

Review: Pyramids, Blackburn

5:50pm Friday 26th April 2013

The name Pyramids conjures up all manner of exotic images.

Review: WOKSTAR, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: WOKSTAR, Blackburn

3:25pm Friday 19th April 2013

ONE of the problems of penning takeaway reviews is that some people actually believe that my entire diet consists solely of pies and kebabs.

Review: Dixy Fried Chicken, Blackburn

4:31pm Friday 12th April 2013

EVEN in an area where the boom industry appears to be the takeaway, sometimes you can start to run out of options.

Review: Abaseen, New Bank road, Blackburn

5:43pm Friday 1st March 2013

MY mother — and no doubt many other mothers — used to say that you eat with your eyes.

Review: Chicken Hut, Blackburn

5:22pm Friday 8th February 2013

FRIED chicken takeaways seem to be the next big thing as far as fast food in East Lancashire is concerned. They vary from the good to the bad and in some cases the ugly.

Review: Mr Spuds, Blackburn Market

4:40pm Friday 4th January 2013

ONE of the bonuses of the new market is most definitely the variety it has brought to the low cost food offerings for town centre workers and shoppers.

The Golden Kebab 2012

1:49pm Wednesday 2nd January 2013

AT this time of the year it is tradition to reflect and review the events of the past 12 months.

Review: Tony's Crepes, Blackburn Market

4:40pm Friday 14th December 2012

IF someone had said even six months ago, ‘I think I’ll pop into town for a crepe for lunch’ they would have been looked at as though they were a bit daft.

Review: Khyber, Whalley Range, Blackburn

4:48pm Friday 7th December 2012

SOMETIMES you just know that you are not taking a risk when you play that old favourite game of menu lottery.

Review: Oasis, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Oasis, Blackburn

2:47pm Friday 30th November 2012

THE last place you would normally start searching for an oasis is the centre of an East Lancashire industrial town such as Blackburn.

Review: Flames, Blackburn

6:02pm Friday 23rd November 2012

WHEN it comes to kebabs I reckon that I am fairly well qualified to express an opinion. For years I have been demolishing them...and not just as a post-pub feast.

Review: Miami Chicken and Pizza Darwen Street, Blackburn

3:36pm Friday 26th October 2012

DARWEN Street could be described as Blackburn’s equivalent to Manchester’s Curry Mile, aside from the lack of a decent curry and ignoring the fact that the ‘strip’ of fast-food takeaways is actually only a couple of hundred yards long.

Review: Nile Original, Preston New Road, Blackburn

2:56pm Friday 19th October 2012

A BIG kebab may not exactly be the most healthy meal you could eat — but it can certainly tick all the boxes on a wet and miserable night.

Review: The Chippery, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: The Chippery

5:40pm Friday 28th September 2012

SOMETIMES you get a medical need for fish and chips just to help you through the working day. Nothing else will do to fill the lunchtime hole.

Review: Khan's Spice, Johnston Street, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Khan's Spice, Johnston Street, Blackburn

2:54pm Friday 14th September 2012

A KEBAB is just a kebab according to a mate of mine — but that is not always a line I can agree with.

Review: Happy Haddock Fish Bar, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Happy Haddock Fish Bar, Blackburn

3:56pm Friday 17th August 2012

AS much as choice is a good thing when it comes to takeaways sometimes you just can’t beat the good old staple of fish and chips.

Review: HARDEEZ Copy Nook, Blackburn

4:46pm Friday 3rd August 2012

SOMETIMES you just feel overburdened by the number of takeaway menus that get shoved through your door.

Review: Oasis, Darwen Street, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Oasis, Darwen Street, Blackburn

4:13pm Tuesday 12th June 2012

BLACKBURN’S Darwen Street is a neon-lit mecca of the takeaway.

Review: Grillish, Johnston Street, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Grillish, Johnston Street, Blackburn

4:59pm Friday 25th May 2012

JOHNSTON Street is one of those streets that suggests there must be some serious money to be made in takeaways.

Review: Pyramids, Darwen Street, Blackburn

4:41pm Friday 11th May 2012

GIVEN the number of fast food establishments in Blackburn’s Darwen Street, it seems perhaps

Review: Tasty Pizza Bar, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Tasty Pizza Bar, Blackburn

4:12pm Friday 20th April 2012

A NAME means everything. It is the first thing you notice and often the last thing you remember.

Review: Perfect Fried Chicken, Blackburn

2:55pm Tuesday 17th April 2012

ASK many people in Blackburn town centre where Cardwell Place is and the majority would probably struggle to tell you.

Review: CUBE Darwen Street, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: CUBE Darwen Street, Blackburn

4:56pm Friday 23rd March 2012

ANYONE wandering down Blackburn’s Darwen Street cannot fail to notice the number of takeaways — especially at night when the neon glow is a bit of a giveaway.

Review: LALA’S Manchester Road, Nelson

Lancashire Telegraph: LALA’S Manchester Road, Nelson

4:07pm Friday 2nd March 2012

GOING La La wouldn’t normally be classed as a good thing when said in East Lancashire.

Review: Camel One, Preston New Road, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Camel One, Preston New Road, Blackburn

3:06pm Friday 24th February 2012

SOMETIMES you find something that just isn’t right?

Review: Roxy Fried Chicken and Pizza, Blackburn

4:06pm Friday 10th February 2012

HEAD out of Blackburn up Preston New Road and you hit a cluster of shops in the Limefield area.

Review: KFC, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: KFC, Blackburn

3:09pm Friday 20th January 2012

ONE of the big boys of the takeaway world, KFC and I have a strained relationship.

Review: Godfather, Blackburn

2:24pm Friday 30th December 2011

The festive period can have a funny effect on you.

Review: Mikshake and Panini Press, Blackburn Market

4:24pm Thursday 29th December 2011

OPENING an ice cream milkshake bar in the middle of winter may seem like madness.

Review: tCK Deli, Blackburn Market

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: tCK Deli, Blackburn Market

12:41pm Friday 30th September 2011

HAVING recently opened its fourth shop in Blackburn’s new market, tCK Deli is a popular business.

Review: Tasty Bits, Darwen

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Tasty Bits, Darwen

11:38am Friday 23rd September 2011

I HAVE stopped off at Tasty Bits takeaway and cafe for an early morning breakfast fix in the past — but this time I called in to buy lunch for that day.

Review: Food Bowl, Blackburn Market

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Food Bowl, Blackburn Market

11:25am Friday 16th September 2011

IT’S rare to be spoiled for choice on a lunch time menu, but the Food Bowl has customers stumped for a good few minutes as they ogle all the delights on offer.

Review: Ruchi Bangla, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: RUCHI BANGLA

1:45pm Friday 22nd July 2011

THE better half has a theory that a good curry can do wonders if you’re coming down with a cold.

Review: Gochang's Gourmet Restaurant, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Gochang's Gourmet Restaurant, Blackburn

2:57pm Friday 15th July 2011

A TAKEAWAY from Chang’s used to be such a top experience.

Review: Aharoni's, Blackburn Market

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Aharoni's, Blackburn

3:29pm Friday 1st July 2011

IF, like me, you’re new to piegata then let your first time be with Aharoni’s.



TOP FIVE MUSIC CHARTS

Your local newsYourTelegraph


Your Say Your Telegraph



Essential links



click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree