Church dates back at least to the turn of the time of the monks of Whalley Abbey who, in the 14th century, built a small chapel.
The monks at that time ran a series of farms then called granges in and around the village.
Then came cotton and this industry developed quickly as first the Leeds and Liverpool canal cut through the village in the early years of the 19th century,was followed in 1848 by the railway.
Church specialised in the production of calico and the uncle of Sir Robert Peel, who became Prime Minister in the 1840s, was a major producer.
There was indeed a Church in existence by 1334, dedicated to St James.
There is a record from this time indicating that when it rained, water flooded into the church and mass could not be celebrated.
Some repairs were made. Only the 15th century tower of the old church remains and rebuilding took place in 1870 and in 1895.
The increase in prosperity meant larger and more wealthy congregations.
Inside there is a fascinating font. Look in the churchyard of St James's for the grave of James Simpson.
In the 19th century, he was president of the Vegetarian Society.
It can't have done him much good because he died at the age of only 48.