HALF a century ago, a team of Blackburn schoolboys brought home a special piece of silverware.

It was back in 1967 when the young footballers of Blackburn Town Team lifted the Lancashire Schools' Trophy for the first time for four decades.

This year, 50 years on from their triumph, they are planning a reunion to recall their win against a strong Manchester schoolboys' outfit.

However, despite a two-year search by one of their number, Michael Szkwara, then called Hough, two of the teenage Blackburn players cannot be traced, so he has turned to Bygones for help.

He has asked readers if they know the whereabouts of Stephen Wells, who played for Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School and Stewart Cameron, who played for the Shadsworth High School team.

They are both invited to the get-together which will take place at the Foxfield Country Hotel in Billington on Saturday, May 20.

Back in 1967, the manager of the winning team, pictured here, with some of the football committee, was Gordon Hebden, then head of PE at Witton Park.

He was assisted by Alan Bradshaw, head of PE at Shadsworth, who also played for Blackburn Rovers as an amateur.

Missing from the image are Michael, who had emigrated to Canada after scoring in the semi finals against Chadderton, giving John Waddington the chance to play, and Roy Wilcock, who had signed forms with the Rovers and was thus ineligible.

The first leg of the final took place on Griffin when, urged on by a crowd of some 3,000, Blackburn ran out 3-2 winners.

The second leg, held at Maine Road, was a more edgy affair - the final 0-0 scoreline enough for Blackburn to bring the trophy home for the first time since the 1920s.

There was a civic reception, hosted by the mayor in their honour.

If you know the whereabouts of Stephen or Stewart, you can get in touch with the Bygones's desk or email Michael at szkwara6@gmail.com

* The football team are: standing from left: S Bolton, J Waddington, Stephen Wells, R Ellis, M Waite and S Ansbro.

Sitting are: Mr Bradshaw, J Campbell, J Mullen, P Isherwood, G Stevenson, A Holt and Mr Hebden.

At the front are: D Leaver, Stewart Cameron, D Hollinrake and W Harwood.

At the back are members of the football committee: H King, K Charnley, S Whalley, T Duckworth, K Walmsley, F Shuttleworth, J Hayhurst, J Peers, G Longton, G Armistead and R Matthews.